Maine Concealed Carry Reciprocity | States Honoring Maine’s CCW Permit

Maine Concealed Carry Reciprocity: Maine Capitol Building
Maine Capitol Building

What States Honor Maine’s Concealed Carry Permit (CCH)

This page provides information on Maine Concealed Carry (CCW) Reciprocity. These states have a reciprocal agreement with the state of Maine. Also listed are the concealed carry permits from other states that are recognized in Maine.

The information in this article is not legal advice and we make no guarantee that this information is accurate at the time you read it. Gun laws and reciprocal agreements are constantly changing so we recommend checking the current laws in any state or jurisdiction where you may be carrying a handgun or other weapon.

What is Concealed Carry Permit Reciprocity?

Concealed carry reciprocity means that one state recognizes and honors another state’s concealed carry permit or license. The two states have a reciprocal agreement and mutually recognize each others permits.

Concealed Carry Reciprocity allows a person with a concealed carry permit to travel to other states that recognize that permit and legally carry a concealed handgun.

The rules of reciprocity vary greatly from state to state, so it is imperative that you know the rules for the states that you intend to visit.

Constitutional Carry in Maine

Many states have Constitutional Carry or Permitless Carry laws that allow Concealed Carry and/or Open carry without a license or permit. These states are listed at States with Constitutional Carry Laws.

Maine is a Constitutional Carry State. Anyone that can legally possess a handgun and is at least 21 years old (18 if active military or honorably discharged) can carry concealed in Maine without a permit.

Since not all states have Constitutional Carry, Maine issues Concealed Carry Permits (known as Carry Concealed Handguns or CCH) to residents as well as non-residents 18 years old or older. This permit will allow the holder to carry a concealed handgun in another state that recognizes the Maine CCH.

Maine CCH permits require knowledge of firearm safety or completion of a course including safety instruction.

See Maine Constitutional Carry & Concealed Carry Laws

Maine Concealed Carry Reciprocity: Man carrying a concealed handgun
Man carrying a concealed handgun

Maine Concealed Carry Reciprocity: States That Recognize Maine’s Concealed Carry Permit (CCH)

The table below shows the Maine reciprocity status of all 50 states and Washington, DC. Most, but not all states recognize a Maine Concealed Carry Permit (Carry Concealed Handguns or CCH). If the table indicates “Resident Permits only”, it means the permit must be issued to a resident of the state. In other words, if you hold a Non-Resident Permit, it is NOT honored in that state.

If the table shows “Handguns only” it means that only handguns may be carried concealed under the Maine permit. Some state’s permits allow the concealed carry of stun guns, knives, blackjacks, etc. in the issuing state.

If the state has an asterisk, it is a Constitutional or Permitless Carry State. This means that generally, a permit is not needed to carry concealed in this state as long as the carrier meets the minimum age requirement.

The minimum age in Constitutional Carry states ranges from 18-21, so be sure you know the age requirement in the state you intend to carry.

Firearms Legal Protection starting at $9.95/month*

Firearms Legal Protection Discounted Rates

FLP is highly regarded and recommended by some of the top names in the self defense firearms industry. At least check them out before you make a decision.

Maine Concealed Carry Reciprocal States List: States with Maine CCW Reciprocity

States that honor the Maine Concealed Carry Permit are listed below. When a state does not honor another state’s permit, it is usually because the requirements are not strict enough.

For example, some states have training requirements to get a permit. These states generally do not honor the permits from a state that does not require similar training.

StateRecognizes Maine’s
Permit
AlabamaYes
Alaska*Permitless.
Min Age 21
Arizona*Permitless.
Min Age 21
Arkansas*Permitless.
Min Age 18
CaliforniaNo
ColoradoNo
ConnecticutNo
DelawareYes
FloridaYes
Min Age 21,
Resident Permit
Only
GeorgiaYes
HawaiiNo
Idaho*Permitless.
Min Age 18
IllinoisNo
Indiana*Permitless.
Min Age 18
Iowa*Permitless.
Min Age 21
Kansas*Permitless.
Min Age 21
Kentucky*Permitless.
Min Age 21
LouisianaYes
Min Age 21
Maine*Permitless.
Min Age 21
MarylandNo
MassachusettsNo
MichiganYes
Min Age 21,
Resident Permit only
MinnesotaNo
Mississippi*Permitless.
Min Age 18
Missouri*Permitless.
Min Age 19,
18 if Military
Montana*Permitless.
Min Age 18
NebraskaYes
Min Age 21
NevadaNo
New Hampshire*Permitless.
Min Age 18
New JerseyNo
New MexicoNo
New YorkNo
North CarolinaYes
North Dakota**Yes, Resident
Permits Only
OhioYes
Min Age 21
Oklahoma*Permitless.
Min Age 21
OregonNo
PennsylvaniaNo
Rhode IslandNo
South CarolinaNo
South Dakota*Permitless.
Min Age 18
Tennessee*Permitless.
Min Age 21
Texas*Permitless.
Min Age 21
Utah*Permitless.
Min Age 21
Vermont*Permitless.
Min Age 18
VirginiaYes
Min Age 21
WashingtonNo
Washington DCNo
West Virginia*Permitless.
Min Age 21
WisconsinNo
Wyoming*Permitless.
Min Age 21

*Permitless Carry States. Some of these states may have additional limitations.

**North Dakota allows Permitless Carry ONLY for Residents of ND.

Reasons You May need a permit to carry a Concealed Handgun in Maine

Although Maine is a permitless carry state, there are reasons you may still need a permit:

  • You are 18-20 years old and have no military affiliation
  • You would like to carry in certain places in Maine that are off limits to permitless carriers

Maine Concealed Carry Reciprocity: Maine Recognizes These State’s Concealed Carry Permits

Maine has a minimum age of 21 to carry concealed without a permit. If you are 18-20 years old AND active military or honorably discharged from the military, you may also carry concealed without a permit.

If you are 18-20 years old and have no military affiliation, you will need a permit to carry concealed. The permit may be a Maine issued permit or a permit from another state that Maine recognizes.

The table below shows which state’s Concealed Carry Permits Maine recognizes.

As with every state, you cannot carry a handgun at all if you are a prohibited person by Federal or State law.

StateME Recognizes Permit
AlabamaYes
AlaskaYes
ArizonaYes
Arkansas Yes
CaliforniaNo
ColoradoNo
ConnecticutNo
DelawareYes
FloridaYes, Handguns Only
GeorgiaYes
HawaiiNo
IdahoYes
IllinoisNo
IndianaYes
IowaYes
KansasYes
KentuckyYes
LouisianaYes
MaineYes
MarylandNo
MassachusettsNo
MichiganYes
MinnesotaNo
MississippiYes
MissouriYes
MontanaYes
NebraskaYes
NevadaNo
New HampshireYes
New JerseyNo
New MexicoNo
New YorkNo
North CarolinaYes
North DakotaYes
OhioYes
OklahomaYes
OregonNo
PennsylvaniaNo
Rhode IslandNo
South CarolinaNo
South DakotaYes
TennesseeYes
TexasYes
UtahYes
VermontYes
VirginiaYes
WashingtonNo
Washington DCNo
West VirginiaYes
WisconsinNo
WyomingYes

Thanks for visiting this website and if you have questions or comments or know of any corrections, please leave a comment below. Thanks for visiting the site for information on Maine Concealed Carry Reciprocity.

Sources:

US Concealed Carry

Handgun Law

*Permitless Carry States. Some of these states may have additional limitations.

Leave a Comment