Georgia Concealed Carry Reciprocity | States That Honor Georgia’s WCL

Georgia Concealed Carry Reciprocity: Georgia Capitol Building in Atlanta
Georgia Capitol Building in Atlanta

What States Honor Georgia’s CCW Permit

This page provides information on Georgia Concealed Carry Reciprocity. These states have a reciprocity agreement with the state of Georgia. Also listed are the concealed carry permits from other states that are recognized in Georgia.

The information in this article is not legal advice and we make no guarantee that this information is accurate at the time you read it. Gun laws and reciprocal agreements are constantly changing so we recommend checking the current laws in any state or jurisdiction where you may be carrying a handgun or other weapon.

What is Concealed Carry Permit Reciprocity?

Concealed carry reciprocity means that one state recognizes and honors another state’s concealed carry permit or license. The two states have a reciprocal agreement and mutually recognize each others permits.

Concealed Carry Reciprocity allows a person with a concealed carry permit to travel to other states that recognize that permit and legally carry a concealed handgun.

The rules of reciprocity vary greatly from state to state, so it is imperative that you know the rules for the states that you intend to visit.

Georgia Concealed Carry Reciprocal States.

Many states have Constitutional Carry or Permitless Carry laws that allow concealed and/or Open carry without a license or permit. These states are listed at States with Constitutional Carry Laws.

Georgia is a Constitutional Carry State. anyone that can legally possess a handgun and is at least 21 years old can carry concealed in Utah without a permit.

See Georgia Constitutional Carry & Concealed Carry Laws

Georgia Concealed Carry Reciprocity: Man carrying a concealed handgun
Man carrying a concealed handgun

Georgia Concealed Carry Reciprocity: States That Recognize Georgia’s Concealed Weapons License

The table below shows the Georgia reciprocity status of all 50 states and Washington, DC. Most, but not all states recognize a Georgia Weapons Carry License (WCL). If the table indicates “Resident Permits only”, it means the permit must be issued to a resident of the state. In other words, if you hold a Non-Resident Permit, it is NOT honored in that state.

If the table shows “Handguns only” it means that only handguns may be carried concealed under the Georgia permit. Some state’s permits allow the concealed carry of stun guns, knives, blackjacks, etc. in the issuing state.

If the state has an asterisk, it is a Constitutional or Permitless Carry State. This means that generally, a permit is not needed to carry concealed in this state as long as the carrier meets the minimum age requirement.

The minimum age in Constitutional Carry states ranges from 18-21, so be sure you know the age requirement in the state you intend to carry.

Firearms Legal Protection starting at $9.95/month*

Firearms Legal Protection Discounted Rates

FLP is highly regarded and recommended by some of the top names in the self defense firearms industry. At least check them out before you make a decision.

Georgia Concealed Carry Reciprocal States List: States that Honor Georgia Concealed Carry Permit

States that honor the Georgia Concealed Carry Permit are listed below.

StateRecognizes Georgia
Permit
AlabamaYes
Alaska*Permitless.
Min Age 21
Arizona*Permitless.
Min Age 21
Arkansas*Permitless.
Min Age 18
CaliforniaNo
ColoradoYes
Min Age 21,
Resident Permit
Only
ConnecticutNo
DelawareNo
FloridaYes
Min Age 21,
Resident Permit
Only
GeorgiaYES
HawaiiNo
Idaho*Permitless.
Min Age 18
IllinoisNo
Indiana*Permitless.
Min Age 18
Iowa*Permitless.
Min Age 21
Kansas*Permitless.
Min Age 21
Kentucky*Permitless.
Min Age 21
LouisianaYes
Min Age 21
Maine*Permitless.
Min Age 21
MarylandNo
MassachusettsNo
MichiganYes
Min Age 21,
Resident Permit only
MinnesotaNo
Mississippi*Permitless.
Min Age 18
Missouri*Permitless.
Min Age 19,
18 if Military
Montana*Permitless.
Min Age 18
NebraskaNo
NevadaNo
New Hampshire*Permitless.
Min Age 18
New JerseyNo
New MexicoNo
New YorkNo
North CarolinaYes
North Dakota**Yes, Resident
Permits Only
OhioYes
Min Age 21
Oklahoma*Permitless.
Min Age 21
OregonNo
PennsylvaniaYes
Min Age 21,
Resident Permit only
Rhode IslandNo
South CarolinaYes
Min Age 21,
Resident Permit only
South Dakota*Permitless.
Min Age 18
Tennessee*Permitless.
Min Age 21
Texas*Permitless.
Min Age 21
Utah*Permitless.
Min Age 21
Vermont*Permitless.
Min Age 18
VirginiaYes
Min Age 21
WashingtonNo
Washington DCNo
West Virginia*Permitless.
Min Age 21
WisconsinYes
Min Age 21
Wyoming*Permitless.
Min Age 21

*Permitless Carry States. Some of these states may have additional limitations.

**North Dakota allows Permitless Carry ONLY for Residents of ND.

Georgia Concealed Carry Reciprocity: Georgia Recognizes These State’s Concealed Carry Permits

Georgia has a minimum age of 21 to carry concealed. Also, Georgia honors Resident and Non-Resident Concealed Carry Permits from any other state.

The table below shows which state’s Concealed Carry Permits Georgia recognizes. As mentioned above, you will notice that Georgia honors and recognizes all other states permits.

Georgia is a Constitutional or Permitless Carry State for those 21 and over.

Open carry is legal with a Georgia WCL.

As with every state, you cannot carry a handgun at all if you are a prohibited person by Federal or State law.

StateGA Recognizes Permit
AlabamaYes
AlaskaYes
ArizonaYes
Arkansas Yes
CaliforniaYes
ColoradoYes
ConnecticutYes
DelawareYes
FloridaYes, Handguns Only
GeorgiaYes
HawaiiYes
IdahoYes
IllinoisYes
IndianaYes
IowaYes
KansasYes
KentuckyYes
LouisianaYes
MaineYes
MarylandYes
MassachusettsYes
MichiganYes
MinnesotaYes
MississippiYes
MissouriYes
MontanaYes
NebraskaYes
NevadaYes
New HampshireYes
New JerseyYes
New MexicoYes
New YorkYes
North CarolinaYes
North DakotaYes
OhioYes
OklahomaYes
OregonYes
PennsylvaniaYes
Rhode IslandYes
South CarolinaYes
South DakotaYes
TennesseeYes
TexasYes
UtahYes
VermontYes
VirginiaYes
WashingtonYes
Washington DCYes
West VirginiaYes
WisconsinYes
WyomingYes

Thanks for visiting this website and if you have questions or comments or know of any corrections, please leave a comment below. Thanks for visiting the site for information on Georgia Concealed Carry Reciprocity.

Sources:

US Concealed Carry

Handgun Law

Georgia Attorney General States that Recognize a Georgia Weapons Carry License

*Permitless Carry States. Some of these states may have additional limitations.

Leave a Comment