Utah Constitutional Carry. Utah Concealed & Open Carry Laws
- Utah Is a Constitutional (Permitless) Carry State
- Open Carry Laws in Utah
- Concealed Carry Laws in Utah
- Utah concealed Carry Permit
- Concealed Carry Laws in Utah: How to get a Concealed Firearms Permit (CFP) in Utah
- Utah Concealed Carry Permit Non-Resident
- Utah Concealed Firearms Permit Minimum Requirements
- Utah Provisional Concealed Firearms Permit
- Gun permit (Utah CFP) related statistics in Utah in 2022
- Utah Concealed Carry Reciprocity with other States
- Concealed Carry Laws in Utah: Restrictions FAQs
- Are there places I cannot carry a firearm, even if I have a Concealed Carry Permit (CFP) in Utah?
- Can I carry in Restaurants or Bars in Utah?
- Can I carry concealed in a vehicle in Utah?
- Can I Carry in State Parks, National Parks, Forests and Wildlife Management Areas of Utah?
- Concealed Carry Laws in Utah: Laws Regarding the Sale or Transfer of Firearms
- Is a permit required to purchase firearms in Utah?
- Does Utah have a waiting period when buying a handgun?
- Do Private-party sales and transfers require a background check in Utah?
- Do I need to Register my handguns in Utah?
- Does Utah have magazine limits for handguns?
- Are there restrictions on the purchase of ammunition in Utah?
- FAQ About Firearms Laws in Utah
- Does Utah allow Concealed Carry of Weapons other than Handguns with a Utah CFP?
- Are Stun guns and Tasers legal to own and/or carry in Utah?
- Is There a Duty to Retreat in Utah?
- Is there a ‘Red Flag” law in Utah?
- Are “No Guns” signs enforced by law in Utah?
- Is there a Duty to inform law enforcement that I am carrying a gun in Utah?
This article will provide an overview of the state of Utah Constitutional Carry law. Open Carry and Concealed Carry laws in Utah will also be discussed. Utah is a gun-friendly state.
Disclaimer: This article is NOT LEGAL ADVICE and is for Informational Purposes Only. Gun Laws can be tricky and unclear at times and changes are made often. We take no responsibility for the use or misuse of any information contained in this article. You are responsible for knowing the gun laws if you are going to carry a gun. Consult a Lawyer with any questions. See Footnote*
Utah Is a Constitutional (Permitless) Carry State
Constitutional Carry is legal in Utah. You do not need to have a Concealed Weapons Permit to carry a handgun in Utah. You must be at least 21 years of age and be lawfully allowed to possess a handgun.
Carrying a handgun legally without a permit is referred to as “Constitutional Carry” or “Permitless Carry”. Many states (25 in August, 2022) have adopted a version of law to allow Americans to exercise their Second Amendment rights. See: Which States Have Constitutional or Permitless Carry?
Open Carry Laws in Utah
As a Constitutional Carry state, Open Carry is allowed in Utah without a permit. You must be at least 21 years old and legally allowed to possess a handgun.
Concealed Carry Laws in Utah
Under the Utah Constitutional Carry Law, a Concealed Weapons License or permit is NOT required to carry a concealed handgun in Utah.
Utah concealed Carry Permit
A Utah Concealed Weapons License is called a Concealed Firearms Permit (CFP) and can be issued for reciprocity purposes. The Utah CFP may allow the holder to carry concealed in certain other states. See Utah Concealed Carry Reciprocity.
Having a Utah CFP also exempts you from a background check when purchasing a handgun.
A concealed Carry Permit in Utah may be referred to as a CFP, CCW, Permit, Concealed Carry Permit or Weapons Permit for the purposes of this article.
Utah is a shall-issue state. This means that as long as a CFP applicant meets the requirements, he/she will be issued a permit, regardless of whether the issuing agent believes applicant “deserves” or has a specific reason to have such a license.
Concealed Carry Laws in Utah: How to get a Concealed Firearms Permit (CFP) in Utah
The Utah Gun Permit is called an CFP, which stands for Concealed Firearms Permit. Although not needed to carry concealed in the state of Utah and other Constitutional Carry States, a permit may be needed to carry in other states.
Those 21 and older can apply for a Utah Concealed Firearms Permit, and those 18-20 can apply for a Utah Provisional Concealed Firearms Permit.
Utah Concealed Carry Permits are issued by the Utah Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Identification also know as BCI.
Utah CFP requires the BCI certified course in Firearms Safety and Handling as well as Suicide Prevention.
Utah CFP does NOT require a live fire course.
Utah Concealed Firearms Permit Fee:
- Utah Resident Fee $53.25
- Non-Resident Fee $63.25
Here is a link to the Application for a Utah Concealed Firearm Permit or Provisional Permit.
Here is the link to Utah BCI Concealed Firearms Information.
Utah Concealed Carry Permit Non-Resident
Utah issues Concealed Firearms Permits to any US citizen or legal resident. You do not need to live in Utah.
To apply, applicant can contact the Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) by phone: 801-965-4445 or in person at the following address:
Bureau of Criminal Identification
3888 West 5400 South
Salt Lake City, Utah 84129
Applications will be accepted through the mail or in person, from 8:00 am until 5:00 pm at the above location.
A criminal Background check will be perform for each and every Applicant.
Utah Concealed Firearms Permit Minimum Requirements
You must meet the minimum requirements to apply for a Utah CFP (Concealed Firearms Permit). The requirements are listed below:
- The Applicant must be at 21 years of age or older to apply for the standard permit. To apply for the provisional permit, applicant must be between 18 and 20 years of age.
- The Applicant must be of good moral standing (character), meaning the following must be true:
- The applicant has never been convicted of a felony.
- The applicant has never been convicted of any violent crime.
- The applicant has never been convicted of any alcohol-related criminal offense.
- The applicant has not been convicted of any offenses related to illegal and unlawful use of any controlled substance or narcotic substance.
- The applicant has not been convicted of any offenses involving moral turpitude.
- The applicant has not been convicted of any offense involving domestic violence.
- The applicant has not been adjudicated by a court of any state or of the United States as mentally incompetent, unless the adjudication has been withdrawn or reversed.
- The applicant is qualified to purchase and possess a firearm under Utah Law, any applicable state law and federal law.
Minimum age to get a Concealed Firearms Permit (CFP) in Utah
You must be at least 21 years old to apply for a Concealed Firearms Permit (CFP) or 18-20 for a Provisional CFP in the State of Utah.
Utah Provisional Concealed Firearms Permit
The Provisional CFP is for those 18-20 years of age and although it has the same requirements (other than age) as a standard CFP, it has additional restrictions.
These restrictions include:
- Cannot carry in Primary or Secondary Schools
- May not be allowed to carry in some reciprocal states
- Cannot use the permit to purchase a handgun
Once a Provisional Permit holder reaches the age of 21, the permit expires and they must get the standard CFP.
- There have been 727,000 Million permits issued in Utah.
- Utah state population is 3.3 million.
- Percentage of the population of Utah with a permit is about 21%.
- States that currently honor the Utah carry permit: 36.
- Utah currently honors 48 other states permits.
- Concealed carry permits in Utah are good for 5 years.
- Utah is a “shall issue” state. (Shall- issue means that if you apply for a permit they will issue you one unless there is a legal reason not to. Such as if you are a convicted felon.)
FIREARMS LEGAL PROTECTION
It is a good idea to check into a legal protection membership if you have decided to carry a deadly weapon for self defense. If you ever need to use your firearm to protect yourself or your family, you will need to deal with the police. You may need the services of a lawyer to help you navigate the legal system.
It is not uncommon for someone to be detained, arrested and even charged with a crime after a completely legal self defense incident. Until everything is cleared up, you may need legal representation which can be extremely expensive.
Having a membership with Firearms Legal Protection will cover these costs and provide an experienced attorney to guide you through the process.
Firearms Legal Protection starting at $9.95/month*
FLP is highly regarded and recommended by some of the top names in the self defense firearms industry. At least check them out before you make a decision.
Utah Concealed Carry Reciprocity with other States
Utah is a Constitutional Carry State, meaning anyone from any state can carry a handgun open or concealed. However, you must be 21 years of age or older and be legally allowed to possess a handgun.
A Utah CFP (Concealed Firearms Permit) is honored (recognized) in many other states, but not all states. For information on which stated honor a Utah CFP, see
Concealed Carry Laws in Utah: Restrictions FAQs
Are there places I cannot carry a firearm, even if I have a Concealed Carry Permit (CFP) in Utah?
Under Utah law, concealed handguns are prohibited in these locations (This is not a complete list):
- Churches or other places of Worship that give notice that firearms are prohibited. See the BCI List of Churches that Prohibit firearms.
- Private residences where notice has been given that firearms are prohibited.
- Secure areas of Sheriff, Highway Patrol or Police Stations
- Secure areas of Detention facilities and Correctional institutions (jails, prisons, etc)
- Secure Areas of Airport terminals
- Secure areas of Facilities that care for those with mental illness.
- Secure areas of Any Courthouse
- Any area the Federal or State government prohibits firearms.
You should be attentive for signs warning of restricted areas especially when carrying firearms into public places.
Can I carry in Restaurants or Bars in Utah?
Yes. You can carry in restaurants and bars unless posted otherwise. You CANNOT be under the influence of alcohol while carrying a weapon.
Can I carry concealed in a vehicle in Utah?
Yes, you can carry a handgun in a vehicle in Utah with or without a permit.
Can I Carry in State Parks, National Parks, Forests and Wildlife Management Areas of Utah?
Yes, you can carry in State & National Parks in Utah with or without a permit.
Concealed Carry Laws in Utah: Laws Regarding the Sale or Transfer of Firearms
Here are some common questions dealing with the purchase of a gun in Utah.
Is a permit required to purchase firearms in Utah?
No permit is needed to purchase a handgun in Utah. CFP holders do not need a background check. Provisional CFP holders cannot purchase a handgun at all because they are not 21 years of age.
Does Utah have a waiting period when buying a handgun?
There is no waiting period after buying a handgun before taking possession in Utah.
Do Private-party sales and transfers require a background check in Utah?
No. Private party Firearms sales in Utah do not require a background check.
Although the state of Utah can override this, be aware that Salt Lake City has a policy in place that does require a background check if a private firearms sale or transfer occurs at:
- Salt Palace Convention Center
- Mountain America Expo Center
- Salt Lake County Equestrian Park
Do I need to Register my handguns in Utah?
No. There is no requirement for handguns to be registered in Utah.
Does Utah have magazine limits for handguns?
No, Utah does not have any restrictions on magazine capacity.
Are there restrictions on the purchase of ammunition in Utah?
No. Utah does not have any restrictions on ammunition.
FAQ About Firearms Laws in Utah
Here are a few frequently asked questions regarding gun laws in Ohio. Please read these if you are going to be legally carrying a gun in the state of Utah and want to do it right!
Does Utah allow Concealed Carry of Weapons other than Handguns with a Utah CFP?
No. A CFP is a permit to concealed carry handguns only. It may be legal to carry other weapons, but the CFP is a permit for handguns specifically.
Are Stun guns and Tasers legal to own and/or carry in Utah?
Yes. Utah allows the purchase and possession of tasers and stun guns without a permit.
Is There a Duty to Retreat in Utah?
Is there a ‘Red Flag” law in Utah?
No, Utah does not have a Red Flag Law.
Are “No Guns” signs enforced by law in Utah?
Yes and No. Utah Law does not allow for the enforcement of “No Guns” or “No Weapons” signs, except places specifically mentioned in the law, such as private residences, churches and houses of worship.
To be clear, it is illegal to carry in a posted private residence or church (house of worship).
Other establishments can, however, ask you to leave. Posted or not, if an establishment asks you to leave, you must leave or you can be legally charged.
Is there a Duty to inform law enforcement that I am carrying a gun in Utah?
No. In Utah, you are not required inform a law enforcement officer that you are carrying a firearm. However, for the safety of all involved, it is recommended to inform the officer upon initial contact. If you do not, and the officer sees the weapon, he may assume you are carrying illegally.
If and when you do inform law enforcement, simply tell the officer you are legally carrying a concealed handgun. Never touch or reach for the gun, just hand the officer your permit (if applicable) along with your drivers license or ID and wait for his or her instructions. Always keep your hands in plain sight and make no sudden or furtive movements.
A Word of Advice and Additional questions Regarding Utah Constitutional & Concealed Carry
I will just leave you with a word of advice. Always use common sense when carrying a handgun in Utah or any other location, concealed or otherwise. You need to hold yourself to a high level of responsibility, morality and lawfulness.
You must avoid confrontation at all times and never allow yourself to get into an argument of any kind with anybody. If you are carrying, you are essentially bringing a deadly weapon into every interaction you have in your daily life.
- If someone cuts you off in traffic, LET IT GO.
- If someone cuts in line in front of you, LET IT GO.
- If someone starts trouble, LEAVE or CALL 911.
You must never instigate a problem or escalate an issue. If you get into an argument on the street and it ends with you drawing your weapon, you had better be the picture of innocence if you want to claim self defense.
If you have other questions, please leave them in the comments below and I will do my best to answer them.
Please keep in mind that these Utah gun laws can change at any time and it is your responsibility as the gun owner to know the laws in the states, counties, buildings and properties where you will be carrying your firearm.
Do not base your decision to carry your firearm in Utah or any other location solely on this article. I make no guarantee that this information is accurate at the time you read it, although I will endeavor to keep it up to date and accurate. I am not a lawyer. I am simply providing this information that I have gathered from various trustworthy sources in one place for your convenience.