Alabama Constitutional Carry | Open & Concealed Carry Laws in AL

State of Alabama Capitol Building in Montgomery
State of Alabama Capitol Building in Montgomery

Alabama Constitutional Carry. Alabama Open and Concealed Carry Laws

Alabama Constitutional Carry Bill HB-272 has been signed into law.

This article will provide an overview of the state of Alabama gun laws. Constitutional Carry in Alabama will become effective January 1, 2023.

As in all states, Alabama Constitutional Carry Law has restrictions, so please continue reading to be sure you stay on the right side of the law.

We will also go over Open Carry and Concealed Carry gun laws in Alabama. Alabama is one of the more gun-friendly states in the country and has passed laws to make it easier for law abiding citizens to protect themselves with a firearm if they choose to do so.

Disclaimer: This article is NOT LEGAL ADVICE and is for Informational Purposes Only. Gun Laws can be tricky and unclear at times and changes are made often. We take no responsibility for the use or misuse of any information contained in this article. You are responsible for knowing the gun laws if you are going to carry a gun. Consult a Lawyer with any questions. See Footnote*

Alabama Will Be a Constitutional (Permitless) Carry State Effective January 1, 2023

Alabama Constitutional Carry will become effective January 1, 2023. Alabama Constitutional Carry Bill HB-272 was signed into law on March 10, 2022.

This law will allow the concealed carry of a handgun by any person 21 years of age or older without a permit. You must not be prohibited by State or Federal Law from owning or possessing a handgun.

What is Constitutional Carry?

Carrying a handgun legally without a license or permit is referred to as “Constitutional Carry” or “Permitless Carry”. Many states (25 as of August, 2022) have adopted a version of this law to allow Americans that can legally possess a gun to exercise their Second Amendment rights.

Also See: Which States Have Constitutional or Permitless Carry?

Be aware that every state has different restrictions and rules regarding Constitutional Carry, so be sure to check them before you carry.

Alabama Open Carry Laws

The state of Alabama Allows Open Carry without a permit or license for those 18 years of age or older. As with any state, you must not be a prohibited person on the State or Federal level to carry a handgun.

Some of the prohibited areas for Open Carry include schools and courthouses.

Alabama Concealed Carry Laws

Until the Alabama Constitutional Carry law goes into effect, concealed carry is legal for those with an Alabama Pistol Permit.

Concealed carry in Alabama is allowed for non-resident that hold a concealed carry permit

Alabama is a shall-issue state. This means that as long as a Pistol Permit applicant meets the requirements, he will be issued a permit, regardless of whether the issuing agent believes applicant “deserves” or has a specific reason to have such a license.

However, in Alabama, the sheriff can deny a permit if there is reason to believe a weapon will be used by the applicant illegally or to harm his/herself or others.

The minimum age is 18 in order to get a Pistol Permit in Alabama.

For information on other state’s concealed carry laws, see: States that allow Concealed Carry


  • There have been 1.26 million permits issued in Alabama.
  • Alabama state population is 4.9 million.
  • Percentage of the population of Alabama with a permit is about 25.7%.
  • States that currently honor the Alabama carry permit: 32.
  • Alabama currently honors 48 other states permits.
  • Concealed carry permits in Alabama are good for 1-5 years.
  • Alabama is a “shall issue” state. (Shall- issue means that if you apply for a permit they will issue you one unless there is a legal reason not to. Such as if you are a convicted felon.)
concealed carry gun in Alabama

Minimum age to get an Alabama Pistol Permit

You must be at least 18 years old to apply for a pistol permit in the State of Alabama.

How to get a WCL in Alabama

The Alabama concealed carry permit is called an Alabama Pistol Permit. It may be referred to as an WCL, permit, license to carry or concealed carry permit. It all means the same thing for the purposes of this article.

Check the website of your Alabama county Sheriff for information of the permit process and possible download of an application.

If you live in Elmore County, you can apply for your Alabama Pistol Permit here. If in Jefferson County, Apply here for your Alabama Pistol Permit.

There are no courses or training required to get an Alabama Pistol Permit. You will need to pay a fee in the neighborhood of $20 per year. You can get a Permit good for 1-5 years at a time.

Alabama Concealed Carry Reciprocity with other states

Alabama recognizes Concealed Carry Permits from all other states.

It is a good idea to check into a legal protection membership if you have decided to carry a deadly weapon for self defense. If you ever need to use your firearm to protect yourself or your family, you will need to deal with the police. You may need the services of a lawyer to help you navigate the legal system.

It is not uncommon for someone to be detained, arrested and even charged with a crime after a completely legal self defense incident. Until everything is cleared up, you may need legal representation which can be extremely expensive.

Having a membership with Firearms Legal Protection will cover these costs and provide an experienced attorney to guide you through the process.

Firearms Legal Protection starting at $9.95/month*

Firearms Legal Protection Discounted Rates

FLP is highly regarded and recommended by some of the top names in the self defense firearms industry. At least check them out before you make a decision.

Who CANNOT Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit in Alabama?

  • Anyone under the age of 18.
  • Anyone who is prohibited by Federal or State law from possessing a firearm.

Alabama Carry Location Restrictions FAQs

Are there places I cannot carry a firearm, even if I have a Weapons Carry License in Alabama?

Under Alabama law, concealed handguns are prohibited in these locations (This is not a complete list):

  • Any areas where handguns are prohibited by Federal Law.
  • Restricted Areas of Airport terminals.
  • Jails, prisons, detention facilities and correctional institutions.
  • Police and/or Sheriff Stations.
  • Highway Patrol Stations.
  • Facilities that care for those with mental illness.
  • Any Courthouse or courthouse annex including any building where a courtroom is located.
  • Buildings where a county commission meeting or city council meeting is taking place.
  • University of Alabama and other Alabama College Campuses.
  • Any building where a school sponsored or professional athletic event is being held. (Permit carriers with permission may carry concealed)


You should be attentive for signs warning of restricted areas especially when carrying firearms into public places.

Georgia gun laws: Bar restaurant in Georgia

Can I Carry in Restaurants or Bars in Alabama?

Yes. The State of Alabama does not have a law prohibiting the carry of a handgun into a restaurant or bar as long as there are no signs posted otherwise.

Can I carry concealed in a vehicle in Alabama?

No. You must have a permit to carry in a vehicle in Alabama.

Can I Carry in State Parks, National Parks, Forests and Wildlife Management Areas of Alabama?

Yes. Carry in state and national parks and forests is permitted in Alabama.


FAQ Alabama Laws Regarding the Sale or Transfer of Firearms

Here are some common questions dealing with the purchase of a gun, magazine or ammunition in Alabama.

Is a permit required to purchase firearms in Alabama?

No permit is needed to purchase a handgun in Alabama. Having an Alabama Pistol Permit does NOT exempt you from a background check.

Do Private-party sales and transfers require a background check in Alabama?

No. Private sales in the state of Alabama do not require a background check. However, sales to people that are prohibited by Federal or State law from owning a handgun are still prohibited.

Does Alabama have a waiting period when buying a handgun?

No. there is no waiting period to buy a gun in Alabama.

Do I need to Register my handguns in Alabama?

No. Alabama does not require handgun registration.

Does Alabama have magazine limits for handguns?

No. There are no magazine restrictions in the State of Alabama (AL).

Are there restrictions on the purchase of ammunition in Alabama?

Yes. Ammunition designed to penetrate bullet proof vests is prohibited in Alabama. This ammunition may be referred to as Armor Piercing bullets.


FAQ About Firearms Laws in Alabama

Here are a few frequently asked questions regarding gun laws in Alabama. Please read these if you are going to be legally carrying a gun and want to do it right!

Is There a Duty to Retreat in Alabama?

No. Alabama is a “Stand Your Ground” State and Also a “Castle Doctrine” State. You do not need to retreat from a deadly threat before you resort to using deadly force to defend yourself or your family. This is assuming deadly force is justified.

Is there a ‘Red Flag” law in Alabama?

No, Alabama does have not currently have a Red Flag Law.

Are “No Guns” signs enforced by law in Alabama?

No. Alabama generally does not enforce “No Guns” or “No Weapons Allowed” signs..

Is there a Duty to inform law enforcement that I am carrying a gun in Alabama?

No. In Alabama, you are not required inform a law enforcement officer that you are carrying a firearm if you are stopped for a traffic violation, or are questioned by police on another matter.

Here is an excellent video on How to Navigate a Traffic Stop While Carrying a Handgun.

If and when you do inform law enforcement, simply tell the officer you are legally carrying a concealed handgun. Never touch or reach for the gun, just hand the officer your permit (if applicable) along with your drivers license or ID and wait for his or her instructions. Always keep your hands in plain sight and make no sudden or furtive movements.

law enforcement traffic stop

A Word of Advice and Additional questions

I will just leave you with a word of advice. Always use common sense when carrying a handgun in Alabama or any other location, concealed or otherwise.

You must avoid confrontation at all times and never allow yourself to get into an argument of any kind with anybody. If you are carrying a firearm, you are essentially bringing a deadly weapon into every interaction you have in your daily life.

  • If someone cuts you off in traffic, LET IT GO.
  • If someone cuts in line in front of you, LET IT GO.
  • If someone starts trouble, LEAVE or CALL 911.

You must never instigate a problem or escalate an issue. If you get into an argument on the street and it ends with you drawing your weapon, you had better be the picture of innocence if you want to claim self defense.

If you have other questions, please leave them in the comments below and I will do my best to answer them.

*Footnote

Please keep in mind that these Alabama gun laws can change at any time. It is your responsibility as the gun owner to know the laws in the states, counties, buildings and properties where you will be carrying your firearm.

Do not base your decision to carry your firearm in Alabama or any other location solely on this article. I make no guarantee that this information is accurate at the time you read it, although I will endeavor to keep it up to date and accurate. I am not a lawyer. I am simply providing this information that I have gathered from various trustworthy sources in one place for your convenience.

Sources:

Leave a Comment